meierfamilycookbook

Just another WordPress.com site

Potato Breakfast Casserole October 6, 2011

Filed under: breakfast — meier1014 @ 8:08 am
Tags: ,

This actually comes from a recipe I got from my Gma called “Company Potatoes”, which I’ve always loved. One day I needed a breakfast casserole for a ladies group I’m in and couldn’t find anything I like. I was flipping through my cookbook, and came across the Company Potatoes recipe. I saw that with a few additions it could be turned into a perfect breakfast casserole. At first I thought just sausage would be fine, but we had some mushrooms in we fridge so I tossed those in too. In the end it turned out awesome, and everyone loved it! So if you want to make a breakfast casserole, and maybe are tired of everything with eggs, give this cheesy sausagey goodness a try.

Potato Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients:
1 tube breakfast sausage (any flavor works here, besides maple: hot, mild, sage, etc.)
8oz mushrooms, chopped
1/2c white wine (I guess this is optional, but I really think it enhances the flavor of the mushrooms)
1 2lb bag frozen cubed hash browns, defrosted
1 can cream o mushroom soup, undiluted
1/2c onions, chopped
8oz cheese, grated (I usually buy whatever flavor preshredded cheese is cheapest)
16oz non fat sour cream (lowers the calorie count with out messing with the taste)
Salt
Pepper

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 350F
-In a large saute pan brown sausage, remove and place in a large mixing bowl
-Saute mushrooms in sausage grease, add a little olive oil if the pan is too dry
-Add the wine, bring to a bubble stirring frequently and scraping any brown bots off the bottom of the pan
-Reduce wine until it has almost all evaporated
-Add mushrooms to the bowl
-Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl and stir until well combined
-Spread in a 9×13 pan
-Sprinkle with salt and pepper
-Bake for 45-60 minutes, until bubbling and starting to brown on top

20111006-080815.jpg

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

