meierfamilycookbook

Just another WordPress.com site

Crockpot Mac and Cheese January 16, 2012

Filed under: crockpot,entrees — meier1014 @ 3:00 pm

Truth be told, I’m not the biggest fan of mac and cheese. I’m not exactly sure why, but that’s just the way it is. However, I do have 2 little kids, and kids LOVE mac and cheese. I usually just go the stereotypical route with the boxed stuff, but I am trying to get away from things that are so overly processed. I came across this recipe on Pinterest the other day and really wanted to try it. I had the perfect chance recently, a friend came over with her little one for a playdate. So, I said I’d make lunch and I gave this recipe a try. It turned out awesome. It wasn’t overly saucey, but it wasn’t dry either. Plus, I was able to make it in the crockpot so it was beyond simple. It did make quite a bit more than I expected… I would say this recipe could serve anywhere between 6-10 people.

Crockpot Mac and Cheese

Ingredients
-1 1/2 cups milk
-One 12 oz can evaporated milk (I used skim)
-1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted, cooled to room temp
-3 large eggs
-1/2 tsp salt
-3 cups (12 oz) shredded cheese (I bought the preshredded bagged stuff, I used 2 cups of cheddar blend and 1 cup colby jack)
-1/2 pound elbow macaroni or mini penne tubes, par cooked and drained (this means cook them for about five minutes until tender but not completely cooked)
-Freshly ground black pepper to taste
-1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
-Paprika

Directions
Spray the inside of your crockpot with cooking spray

20120116-135009.jpg
Combine the first four ingredients in your crockpot and whisk until smooth. It is very important to make sure your butter is room temp, I added mine a little early and it made the mixture a little weird.

20120116-135241.jpg
Add par cooked noodles

20120116-135312.jpg
Top with your 3 cups of shredded cheese

20120116-135402.jpg
Pepper to taste

20120116-135449.jpg
Give it a stir to combine everything

20120116-135516.jpg
Top with the parmesan and paprika.
Cover and cook on high for 30 mins. Once the 30 minutes is up reduce heat to low and cook for an additonal 2 hours. When it’s done it should look like this:

20120116-135813.jpg
(I didn’t take this picture, it’s from the original blog, I’m just an idiot and forgot to take a pic of the final product… It did look like this though.)

 

Leave a Reply

