meierfamilycookbook

Just another WordPress.com site

World Class Meatloaf February 3, 2012

Filed under: entrees — meier1014 @ 9:17 am

20120203-080820.jpg
I love meatloaf. I know that sounds weird, but it’s just so delcious. It’s kind of like eating a giant slice of meatball, and the Italian in my blood just can’t say no to that!! I have been perfecting this meatloaf recipe for years. No joke. I’ve probably been working on it since junior year of high school, so around 8ish year. But I think I have FINALLY gotten it just right. I have heard many a time “This is the best meatloaf I’ve ever had”, and I would have to agree. If you like meatloaf at all I would take the time to try this recipe. It’s amazing if I do say so myself.

World Class Meatloaf
Servings: 8-10
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: approx 1hr

Ingredients
-1 egg; lightly beaten
-6oz V8 juice
-1/2c bread crumbs (I LOVE making bread crumbs from dill rye bread and using them in this. They give it AMAZING flavor)
-2tbs onion soup mix
-1/4c fresh shredded parmesan cheese
-2 cloves garlic, minced
-pinch of garlic powder
-1/2c chopped onion
-1/2c any color bell pepper (I use a combo of red and green)
-3/4lb ground beef (I usually use 80/20, the higher fat content helps hold it together)
-3/4lb ground italian sausage (don’t use sweet)
-bacon (usually 3-4 strips)
-ketchup
-BBQ sauce
-siracha sauce (or hot sauce of your choice)

Directions
-Preheat oven to 375
-In a large mixing bowl combine the egg, v8, bread crumbs, onion soup mix, parmesan, garlic, garlic powder, onion, and bell peppers
-Crumble in ground beef and italian sausage and season with salt and pepper
-Combine until all the ingredients have been worked together, set aside
-Now this next step is something I have worked out through trial and error. Take a broiling pan (You know, that rimmed pan with a flat “lid” that has slits in it), cover the top with foil, and use a knife to cut the slits into the foil. This way the fat from the loaf will drain into the pan underneath and your loaf won’t be sitting in a big pool of fat.
-Shape your meat mixture into a loaf on your foil cover broiling pan
-Cut slices of bacon in half, width way. Cover the top of the loaf with bacon, from side to side, NOT from end to end (this will make it WAY easier to cut)
-Place in the oven for 30 minutes. While it’s cooking combine the ketchup, BBQ sauce, and siracha.
-After the 30 minutes take out the meatloaf, brush the bacony top with your sauce mixture, place a meat thermometer in the center, and return to the oven
-Bake for an additional 30 minutes, or until the internal temp reaches 160
-Remove and allow to rest for 10 minutes
-Remove the thermometer and slice

20120203-080800.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

