meierfamilycookbook

Just another WordPress.com site

Blueberry Rhubarb Whole Wheat Muffins May 31, 2012

Filed under: baked goods,breakfast,snacks — meier1014 @ 3:36 pm

I was grocery shopping the other day and my attention was caught by a box with Oregon stamped on it in big red letters. Anything with the word Oregon on it catches my eye… Lol This box happened to be a large box of rhubarb. I haven’t had rhubarb in ages. Then I kept seeing rhubarb recipes all over pinterest. I just couldn’t get rhubarb out of my brain, I NEEDED to make something with it. So, today while I was grocery shopping I bought some. I went back to pinterest after getting home from the store to find a good recipe and, wouldn’t you know it, I couldn’t find a single one I liked… Then I saw this one for blueberry rhubarb muffins. I changed a couple things and now it is healthy, tasty, and low cal (for a muffin lol).

Blueberry Rhubarb Whole Wheat Muffins
123 cals per muffin, makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:
1 C whole wheat flour
1 C all purpose flour
1/8 C sugar
1/8 C packed brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1 C applesauce – all natural, unsweetened
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tbs olive oil
3/4 C blueberries
3/4 C rhubarb, chopped

Directions:
-Combine flours (feel free to use 2c of all purpose flour if you don’t have any whole wheat flour on hand), sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl
-Chop rhubarb and add it, along with the blueberries, to the dry ingredients. Stir to coat.
-In a second bowl whisk applesauce, vanilla, egg, and olive oil together until well combined.
-Add wet ingredeints to the dry ingredients. Stir until batter is moist. This will take a bit of time, but trust me it will come together. Be careful not to burst the blueberries.
-Spoon batter into a lightly greased (I used cupcake liners) muffin pan. This recipe should make 12 muffins
-Bake at 325 for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center. They won’t be super brown when they’re done, so don’t judge the doneness by color.
-Allow to sit for 2-3 minutes in the pan, then transfer to a cooling rack.

20120531-153335.jpg
Gooey batter deliciousness waiting to go in the oven

20120531-153407.jpg
Fresh from the oven.

 

Leave a Reply

