meierfamilycookbook

Just another WordPress.com site

Cinnamon Swirl Sourdough Banana Bread June 10, 2012

Filed under: baked goods,sourdough — meier1014 @ 1:17 pm

20120610-131153.jpg

I love banana bread. My mom has been making it for as long as I can remember, and it was one of the first things I learned how to bake. There are so many ways you can make banana bread, so many things you can add, and I think I have tried the majority of them. But I was looking at Pinterest (Hello my name is Anna and I am a pinterest food & drink category addict) the other day and saw two things I had never tried when it came to banana bread. Sourdough and cinnamon swirl. They were two different recipes and the both looked amazing. Plus I needed to feed my sourdough AND had bananas in the freezer waiting to be used. So what else was there for me to do besides make banana bread? Since my sourdough needed to be fed I decided to look into the sourdough banana bread version. But I couldn’t get the idea of a cinnamon swirl out of my head. So I said to myself “why not combine the two?!?!!” I did, and OH. MY. GOSH!!!! The results were outstanding!!! It was super moist, and delicious. The only downfall was that the swirl messed with the integrity of the bread so it was a bit hard to cut and a bit messy to eat. But oh man, the mess was worth it!

Cinnamon Swirl Sourdough Banana Bread
Ingredients:
Bread
1/3 cup shortening
1 cup sugar
1 egg
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup mashed banana
1 cup sourdough starter
1 tsp vanilla

Cinnamon Swirl
1/3c brown sugar
1tbs cinnamon

Directions:
-Cream together the shortening and sugar, add egg, and mix until blended.
-Stir in bananas and sourdough starter.
-Add vanilla.
-Sift flour, measure again with salt, baking powder, and soda.
-Add flour mixture and walnuts to the first mixture, stirring just until blended.
-Combine brown sugar and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside.
-Line a loaf pan with parchment paper
-Pour 1/3 of banana bread batter into the lines loaf pan, sprinkle 1/3 of the cinnamon sugar over the top, and repeat (it should end up batter, sugar, batter, sugar, batter, sugar)
-Bake in 350 oven for 1 hour or until toothpick comes out clean.
-Cool before slicing.

20120610-131128.jpg

20120610-131213.jpg
I spread a bit of cream cheese frosting over the first piece I had and it was banana bread HEAVEN!

 

Leave a Reply

